2017 President's Award Program Finalists

Finalists for the 2017 TDA President’s Awards Program were selected on September 14 in Austin.  The awards program recognizes outstanding projects, places, and people of Texas downtowns and is sponsored by the Texas Downtown Association (TDA).  TDA was established in 1985 to connect and serve communities that are committed to downtown vitality.  The membership organization is an independent, statewide nonprofit that represents cities and towns of all sizes, economic development corporations, chambers of commerce, local organizations, small businesses, and individuals.   

One hundred and fifteen entries were submitted in twelve different categories from communities across the state.  Judges reviewed entries online and then met in person to make their final selection of award finalists and winners.  The panel included:  Kent Collins, Centro Development; P.A. Geddie, County Line Magazine; Lois Rodriguez, Texas Highways; and Evan Thompson, Preservation Texas. 

Winners will be announced on November 8 at the President’s Awards Gala held in conjunction with the 2017 Texas Downtown Conference in McKinney. 

We will once again offer People’s Choice voting and will send out information soon to finalists that can be shared with supporters about how to participate. 

Best Commercial Interior
Under 50k population
Brenham – Puppy Dawgs and Cat Tails
Taylor – 2nd Street Farm 2 Market
Taylor – Curb Side Coffee House

Over 50k population
Denton – Discover Denton Downtown Visitor Center
New Braunfels - The Downtown Social
Tyler - Co.Work Tyler

Best Renovation/Rehabilitation
Under 50k population
Brenham – The Barnhill Center at Historic Simon Theatre
Clifton – Market at the Mill
Mount Vernon – Watermelon Mills Coffee
Nacogdoches – The Fredonia Hotel

Over 50k population
Amarillo – Herring Bank
Carrollton – Monkey King Noodle Company
Tyler – ETX Brewing

Best Restoration
Under 50k population
Castroville – Landmark Inn State Historic Site
Denison – St. Patrick’s Catholic Church
Mount Vernon – ML Edwards & Co.

Over 50k population
No finalists were selected.

Best New Construction
Under 50k population
Bastrop – Lost Pines Art Center*
*Sole finalist and winner.

Over 50k population
Denton – The Railyard/East End Apartments*
*Sole finalist and winner.

Best Public Improvement
Under 50k population
Mount Pleasant – The Alley on Third
Pittsburg – Pilgrim Plaza
Seguin – Seguin Public Library

Over 50k population
Midland – Traffic Box Art Contest
Plano – McCall Plaza
Tyler – Innovation Pipeline

Best Marketing Program
Under 50k population
Waxahachie:  A Place in Your Heart*
*Sole finalist and winner.

Over 50k population
San Marcos – City of San Marcos Main Street*
*Sole finalist and winner.

Best Promotional Event
Under 50k population
Corsicana – Corsicana Pop Up
Levelland – Ladies Night Out
Mount Vernon – Harvest on Main

Over 50k population
Longview – Downtown Live
Tyler – Toast to Downtown Tyler
Waco – Magnolia Market at the Silos

Best Downtown Business
Under 50k population
Buda – Tavern on Main
Elgin – Dorothy’s Fine Jewelry

Over 50k population
Georgetown – Mesquite Creek Outfitters
McKinney – Patina Green Home and Market
San Marcos – 218 Co-op Gallery

Best Downtown Partner
Under 50k population
Bastrop – Bastrop Economic Development Corporation
Elgin – Elgin Economic Development Corporation
Pittsburg – Pilgrim Bank

Over 50k population
Plano – Plano Magazine*
*Sole finalist and winner.

Spirit of Downtown Award
McKinney – McKinney DASH
Mount Pleasant – Cinco de Mayo
Paris – 2016 Centennial Celebration
Quitman – Hard Hat Party on the Pad

Downtowner of the Year & Susan H. Campbell Award for Professional Excellence
These individual awards will be announced at the President’s Awards Gala.



2017 Program Information

Entries for the 2017 Presidents Awards Program are due on July 28, 2017.  

Questions about the awards program?  Interested in learning more about awards program categories?

Download the Awards FAQ | Awards Categories

After you've reviewed the categories and guidelines, register your entries by clicking here.  You can register more than one entry at a time.  

Members should log in to the Members Only section to get the discounted entry fee rate.